Music of the Month

 

Music is to me is the highest form of art there is, I don’t know where I would be without it or how I could be without it. Music challenges, allows me to escape, and knows no boundaries. I can go on and on about the importance of music in everything we do, but that is for a different post. Now for the pieces of music I had on repeat this month.

First up are two golden songs by JP Cooper , who I happen to find while looking for bluesy acoustic covers on YouTube. This man is good, he reminds me of of Tori Kelly (If you don’t know who Tori Kelly is find out), he has spectacular songs writing skills; something vast majority of singers lack. His voice is like honey and wrapped in caramel, with his lower resister providing a slight perfectly balanced rasp. Here take a listen to “Color me in Gold”, I mean the man does not waste a note.  


 

Next dive into “We were raised under Grey Skies” , one of my favorite songs of his, “found a thousand spring times in her eyes and I learned to how to play in the rain”, the best mother to ever exist AKA my mom is still alive, but one listen of this song makes me appreciate her more than I already do. One day she will no longer be with me, and this song makes that thought frightening and and calming at the same time. Give your ears some love listen to this song, cry sad and happy tears, go hug your mom, or remember all the hugs she gave you.


 

Next on my list is “All I ask” an Adele song (written by Bruno Mars) , but this a cover of an Adele that does the impossible, blows her version out of the water. It is preformed by a group of high school kids and a former “The voice” contestant. With amazing lead vocals by  India Carney and backed up by “Forte” this A Capella version brings this love ballad to new heights.


 

Next up is Jojo, one of my favorites who deserves so much more recognition, she burst into the scenes as a young teenager, then all but disappeared from the music industry. I’m so glad she is back, and she teamed up with one the chillest new artist on the scene, Alessia Cara. “I can Only” by Jojo Featuring Alessia Cara has all the smooth vocals you could need.


 

Last but not least is Alleluia by Randall Thompson, this piece invokes every possible emotion in me, I really don’t know how to describe it. I’ve preformed this piece in a choir multiple times, been brought to tears while singing it every single time. I love music that can invoke conflicting emotions, this piece makes me feel somber, hope, despair, joy, loved, alone, minuscule, grand. lend your ears to this pure humanity performed by Octarium. 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.